“S” Is For Sunflower

sunflower-206091_1280
Sunflower (Helianthus annuus L)
Image credit, pixabay.com

Scripture reference;

These things I have spoken unto you, that in me ye might have peace. In the world ye shall have tribulation: but be of good cheer; I have overcome the world.” John 16:33 KJV

 

I can remember as a child wondering how a sunflower could be real, because it was so big.

If I ever doubted as a child that God was real, it must have been only for a moment. I remember thinking of God in literal physical terms when I was little as I learned songs like “He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands”. I would try to picture how big He was.

I no longer think of Him as a great big giant, but I do still believe He is very big in all of His attributes, and all of His power.

 

“Sunflowers” by Theresa Anne Moore

S  tanding so tall like a tower

U  nder a sky that’s so blue

N  one can convey like these flowers

F  eelings as warm and as new.

L  asting impressions of power

O  utpouring grace in full view

W  hen passing the time by the hour

E  ach petal with its golden hue

R  eveals God’s love in a shower

S  plendidly lavished on you.

 

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

 

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

8 thoughts on ““S” Is For Sunflower

  1. Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    “If I ever doubted as a child that God was real, it must have been only for a moment. I remember thinking of God in literal physical terms when I was little as I learned songs like “He’s Got The Whole World In His Hands”. I would try to picture how big He was…)

  2. I made the mistake at about age three of telling my mother that Superman was stronger than God. My hiney soon told me that the truth was otherwise.
    Visit me at: Life & Faith in Caneyhead
    I am Ensign B of Tremps’ Troops
    with the A to Z Challenge

    • Oh, that is funny, Barbara!
      I remember once when I was around eight getting mad and sassy with the Lord, because He wouldn’t help me find my shoes. Kids get the craziest ideas. 🙂

      Love and Blessings,
      Theresa

  3. Debbie says:

    I love how you see a Big God in His big sunflowers! 🙂 Thank you, thank you!
    love, deb

  4. God Bless you, Deb!

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. Theresa, I enjoy your personal thoughts tucked within each lovely post. Thank you for reminding me God has everything in His hands. ❤
    Blessings ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

