“R” Is For Rose

29398_1280703869156_3490772_n
Close up of my Lady Elsie Rose (Rosa ‘ANGelsie’)

29398_1280703709152_1174224_n
Lady Elsie Rose growing in front of my Nikko Blue Hydrangeas (not yet in bloom)
29398_1280703829155_6664641_n
Close up of my Lady Elsie Rose (Rosa ‘ANGelsie’)
29398_1280706349218_6542704_n
Side view of my Lady Elsie Rose (Rosa ‘ANGelsie’)
380619_2962699357992_1244936931_n
Close up of my Lady Elsie Rose (Rosa ‘ANGelsie’)

Can you tell that I really love these roses?

When you look at the picture of them in front of the hydrangeas you are seeing two rose shrubs. These pictures were taken in 2010. Since then, one of them died during a hot summer a few years ago when I neglected to water them well. One day (Lord willing) I will replace it.  🙂

Scripture reference;

Seek ye the Lord while he may be found, call ye upon him while he is near:

Let the wicked forsake his way, and the unrighteous man his thoughts: and let him return unto the Lord, and he will have mercy upon him; and to our God, for he will abundantly pardon.

For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.

For as the heavens are higher than the earth, so are my ways higher than your ways, and my thoughts than your thoughts.

10 For as the rain cometh down, and the snow from heaven, and returneth not thither, but watereth the earth, and maketh it bring forth and bud, that it may give seed to the sower, and bread to the eater:

11 So shall my word be that goeth forth out of my mouth: it shall not return unto me void, but it shall accomplish that which I please, and it shall prosper in the thing whereto I sent it.

12 For ye shall go out with joy, and be led forth with peace: the mountains and the hills shall break forth before you into singing, and all the trees of the field shall clap their hands.” Isaiah 55:6-12 KJV

At this moment I am thinking about restoration. Spring is a time when all of the flowers that were gone in the winter begin to reappear. They serve as reminders that nothing is impossible with our loving God. Sometimes seeds from other places wind up in our yards and sprout pretty plants that give us joy…that comfort us regarding plants that have died.

I had a rose once that was the same color as the ones in the pictures above. It wasn’t a shrub rose, though. It was a climbing rose called “America”. It was on the east side of my house for a few years a long time ago…maybe ten or fifteen years ago. One summer I neglected to water it during the hottest days. It died. The next year I began to see new life way down near the ground. A cane shot up nice and tall. When it bloomed I was surprised to see a deep red rose instead of a coral colored rose. That is because many varieties of roses are grafted onto the root stock of another rose, and if you prune it below the bud union you will get the rose that would bloom from the root stock.

Sometimes we, too, are able to express something so beautiful, but after a period of trauma are nearly dead emotionally with very little hope. Then the Lord slowly and gently revives us, and in time we bloom again in an unexpected way, and to everyone’s delight, the new  bloom is beautiful, too.

 

“Rose” by Theresa Anne Moore

R  eaching forth to greet the spring

O  pens her heart as the cardinal sings

S  howing colors that draw us near

E  mbracing our souls with all that is dear

 

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

 

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

 

13 thoughts on ““R” Is For Rose

  1. Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    “At this moment I am thinking about restoration. Spring is a time when all of the flowers that were gone in the winter begin to reappear. They serve as reminders that nothing is impossible with our loving God. Sometimes seeds from other places wind up in our yards and sprout pretty plants that give us joy…that comfort us regarding plants that have died…”

  2. diedre says:

    What a lovely post! A rose called America – I love it!

  3. Debbie says:

    Sweet Theresa, woman of the Word and God’s comforter to His people . . .this ministered to me so much. Just so much! My hat the Rose would come up again a different color, but just as beautiful spoke volumes! God bless you as you continue to bless us!
    Love, Deb

  4. Deb, I am so glad it blessed you. You are such a blessing to me.

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. Who taught the sun where to stand in the morning
    And who told the oceans you can only come this far
    And who showed the moon where to hide till evening
    Whose words alone can catch a falling star

    Your beautiful post reminded me of this intro to My Redeemer Lives sung by Nicole C. Mullen. This is the second time today I’ve made reference to this song and I don’t know why but it was repeating itself in my mind all day today.

    Your words revived me. Thank you Theresa!!

    • That is one of my favorite songs!

      Thank you Stephanae, for such a sweet comment. I still have the jitters about my new job. It is a weekend job, and tomorrow I will start my 2nd weekend at 8:00 in the morning; will work from 8-6. Please remember me in your prayers. Change has always been hard for me.

      Love and Blessings,
      Theresa

  6. Theresa, I’m glad you re-shared this lovely post, or I would have missed it. Flower surprises are one of my favorites. I brought a rose with me that had grown from a similar circumstance. It’s not as lovely as yours, but it has fragrance of grace memories associated with it too.
    Blessings & hugs ~ Wendy

  7. Debbie says:

    This blessed me so much! What a beautiful way He speaks to you through your garden . . .and then you share it with us! God bless you!
    Love, deb

Leave a Reply

