“M” Is For Mock Orange Shrub

29497_1277612951885_4986220_n
545117_2863159309553_506994192_n
29497_1277612831882_1288728_n
These are photos of my Mock Orange Shrubs (Philadelphus Coronarius).

Scripture reference;

Purge me with hyssop, and I shall be clean: wash me, and I shall be whiter than snow.

Make me to hear joy and gladness; that the bones which thou hast broken may rejoice.

Hide thy face from my sins, and blot out all mine iniquities.

10 Create in me a clean heart, O God; and renew a right spirit within me.” Psalm 51:7-10 KJV

Come now, and let us reason together, saith the Lord: though your sins be as scarlet, they shall be as white as snow; though they be red like crimson, they shall be as wool.” Isaiah 1:18 KJV

 

The Mock Orange is a deciduous shrub that quickly grows to be about 10 feet tall and wide. It enjoys full sun and well drained soil, but will tolerate partial sun.

The pictures above were taken a few years ago. Right now they are covered with flower buds that look like tiny green peas that should be opening in a week or two. They are so beautiful when they are in bloom. Some varieties are fragrant, but mine are not.

As I was looking at the pictures of my mock orange blossom I was reminded of the Bible verses I have shared. Our God is the master of transformation. He takes dead looking stems and causes them to leaf out and bloom in the spring. He also takes our hearts that are stained with sin and makes them white like new fallen snow. The Holy Spirit creates new life in us that will also leaf out, blossom and bear spiritual fruit.

 

“Mock Orange” by Theresa Anne Moore

Petals as white as the snow

Stamens as bright as the sun

Stems from the ground quickly grow

Arching in form that will stun

Oval, green leaves will bestow

Life till its season is done

 

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

 

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

 

 

 

7 thoughts on ““M” Is For Mock Orange Shrub

  1. Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    As I was looking at the pictures of my mock orange blossom I was reminded of the Bible verses I have shared. Our God is the master of transformation.

  2. David M. Brown says:

    What a lovely post and a great theme for the month too.

    Thank you for sharing and good luck with the rest of the challenge 🙂

  3. Debbie says:

    Oh beautiful, beautiful! As I began to read the verses, tears welled up in my eyes. Thank you for ministering to us, sweet friend. This one gets pretty big, doesn’t it? It is called a mock orange shrub . . does it resemble a regular orange tree? That may be a super silly question, but you are so kind and willing to teach us! Haha! Great poem again too!
    Love and prayers!

    • Thank you, Deb! I am so thankful that the Lord washes my sins away.
      I believer they named it after it’s blossom, because many varieties of Mock Orange have blossoms that resemble real orange blossoms.

      That is not a silly question at all! 🙂

      I looked at some pictures of orange trees, and most of them had one trunk with branches coming off of it. The Mock Orange sends up individual limbs (kind of like lilac shrubs) from the ground that are not much bigger around than a pencil. They will be straight/verticle until they reach a height of 8-10 feet, and then they arch kind of like candy canes.

      Love and Blessings,
      Theresa

      • Debbie says:

        Thank you so much, Theresa! I love learning here with you. You are a good teacher! It would be so fun to be there and see it with you in person. 🙂 love you!

  4. I wish I could see all of your painting and decorating projects! I loved that counter top!

    Love and Blessings,
    Theresa

Leave a Reply

