“K” is for Knock Out Rose

208363_1660782650888_1008845_n
Red Knock Out Roses growing in front of a Mock Orange Shrub in my side yard on the west side of my house in April of 2011

574662_2960971554798_1694153461_n
This is how they looked a year later.

553513_2863159549559_1405388798_n
Red Knock Out Roses and Mock Orange Shrub stems on the patio table in my backyard.

Scripture reference;

1 I am the true vine, and my Father is the husbandman.

Every branch in me that beareth not fruit he taketh away: and every branch that beareth fruit, he purgeth it, that it may bring forth more fruit.

Now ye are clean through the word which I have spoken unto you.

Abide in me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself, except it abide in the vine; no more can ye, except ye abide in me.

I am the vine, ye are the branches: He that abideth in me, and I in him, the same bringeth forth much fruit: for without me ye can do nothing.” John 15:1-5 KJV

I like roses of all kinds. I love mass plantings of shrub roses. I have two kinds of shrub roses. One of them is called a Knock Out Rose. I have two red Knock Out Roses growing on the west side of my house. Not only do they bloom over and over from spring through fall, but they also have pretty foliage that remains virtually spot-free!  Where I live the summers are both hot and humid. My other roses (including an expensive “disease resistant” labeled rose) are usually covered with black spot by the middle of July. I still keep them and enjoy them for what they are, but if I ever start buying more roses the majority of them will be Knock Out Roses.

Years of careful breeding went into the development of this cultivar. The subject of rose cultivation (or any plant cultivation) is so fascinating. So much time and effort goes into it.

The Bible has a number of titles for the Heavenly Father, Jesus (His only “begotten” Son),  and His children/followers. All of the titles depict certain aspects of the relationships shared by them. Today I focused on one that relates to plants…”The Gardener”, “The Vine”, and “The Branches”. We all can produce something that will be beneficial to the world and pleasing in God’s sight, but it will only come as the result of His careful tending.

“Knock Out Rose” by Theresa Anne Moore

After digging the hole and placing it there

I covered its roots with utmost care.

Then I circled the plant with a 3 inch berm*

That any good gardener would gladly affirm.

I watered it well and watched as it grew.

And what I witnessed was too good to be true!

It bloomed and it bloomed with all of its heart,

And became a living piece of art.

Now that is how the story goes

For a shrub we call the Knock Out Rose.

* I am not actually sure how tall my berm was or if I even remembered to make one in the first place, but it is a good idea to do that, and it helped me to make a nice poem.

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

9 thoughts on ““K” is for Knock Out Rose

  1. Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    I am up to the letter “K” in the A-Z challenge. I did the best I could. It isn’t easy to make posts that tell about a flower, connect it to a Bible verse, and writing a poem that fits. Doing this 6 days a week for a whole month is indeed a challenge. 🙂

  2. Debbie says:

    What a beautiful rose! No wonder it is your favorite! Those verses touched me deeply and the poem was perfect! Thank you!
    Love you!
    Deb

  3. Thank you Deb for your comment and your friendship!

    Love,
    Theresa

  4. Never heard of this flower before. Pretty!

  5. Great advice all round!

    • Thank you, Cynthia! I don’t know how I overlooked your comment. I try to always respond to people’s comments. You have shared some of the most beautiful flowers and thoughts on your blog.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  6. Theresa, the mock orange and roses must give your garden a heavenly fragrance. I love both.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

