“I” Is For Impatiens

file2451300240874
Impatiens walleriana
Image Credit, http://www.morguefile.com/

 

Scripture reference;

Every man according as he purposeth in his heart, so let him give; not grudgingly, or of necessity: for God loveth a cheerful giver.”  2 Corinthians 9:7 KJV

“9 Two are better than one; because they have a good reward for their labour.

10 For if they fall, the one will lift up his fellow: but woe to him that is alone when he falleth; for he hath not another to help him up.

11 Again, if two lie together, then they have heat: but how can one be warm alone?

12 And if one prevail against him, two shall withstand him; and a threefold cord is not quickly broken.” Ecclesiastes 4:9-12 KJV

 

Busy Lizzie (Impatiens walleriana) is a sweet little flower who gladly brightens shady places with months of abundant blossoms in a number of colors.

She is a tender perennial that must be brought indoors when a frost is in the forecast, or else she will need to be treated as an annual and replaced the following year. Unlike annual vinca (or periwinkle) they like a little morning sun, but must be protected from the afternoon sun. They also need moist soil, and will wilt when they become dry. If your Impatiens have wilted give them a good watering, and then check on them in an hour or two. It is amazing how quickly they can respond.

“Impatiens” by Theresa Moore

I   n shady places we sometimes find

M  eloncholy states of mind

P   ensive musings that confound

A  bjection threatens to abound

T  hen when it is least expected 

I   llumination is projected

E  mancipation is effected

N  ew found friends came to your side

S  upplying warmth restoring pride*

 

* This pride should not be confused with the sinful, “haughty” pride that causes a person to think he or she is better than others. The pride to which I am referring is an awareness of worth; for a person to realize that he or she is valued and loved.

 

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

 

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on ““I” Is For Impatiens

  1. The impatiens are beautiful and remind me of hubby’s 4 o’clocks. Oh, and I was wrong about the day, my Steve Miller tune is tomorrow’s post! I forgot I tied into the second word in the title.
    Visit me at: Life & Faith in Caneyhead
    I am Ensign B of Tremps’ Troops
    with the A to Z Challenge

    • Barbara, I am giggling with anticipation as I recall a song with the title “J”, and thinking about some lyrics that begin with “You treat me like I was your ocean”! Heehee 🙂

      I am grinning from ear to ear picturing Four O’ Clocks, and lakeside picnics. I will be over at your blog in just a little bit.

      Love and Blessings,
      Theresa

  2. Theresa, I’m really enjoying your lovely blend of inspiration, flowers, and poetry.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

    • Wendy, thank you so much. It really means a lot! I have been going through some hard times these past couple of years. I needed something to occupy my mind. Then I discovered this A-Z Challenge. I have also really benefited from the comments from you and my other blogging friends. It has helped me to feel less lonely.

      Love and Blessings,
      Theresa

  3. Debbie says:

    I love Impatiens! If I find the right spot for them and don’t forget to water them, they are so happy and beautiful! Awesome verses again and I loved the poem, how God can send warmth and light and friendship to restore us! Yay Jesus! And thank you for helping us understand that there is a certain ‘pride’ that isn’t bad! Very important!
    Love!
    Deb

    • Deb, wouldn’t we have fun if we lived in the same neighborhood! We could share little starts of each others plants and treats that we have baked! My red roses have buds, and two of them have opened. I have got to read the instruction book that goes with the camera, and start taking pictures!

      I am learning more and more that it is good to know the difference between good pride and bad pride.

      Love and blessings,
      Theresa

  4. These flowers are so pretty.

Leave a Reply

