“H” Is For Hibiscus

205090_1648393941178_3182939_n
This is a Rose of Sharon (Hibiscus syriacus) that I have growing in my back yard.

Scripture reference;

1 I am the rose of Sharon, and the lily of the valleys.

As the lily among thorns, so is my love among the daughters.

As the apple tree among the trees of the wood, so is my beloved among the sons. I sat down under his shadow with great delight, and his fruit was sweet to my taste.” Song of Solomon 2:1-3 KJV

Hibiscus is a genus belonging to the Mallow  family which is made up of over 200 species of shrubs, trees, annuals, and perennials. Hibiscus flowers usually last for just a day, and then close and drop off the plant. Some are hardy and survive freezing temperatures, while others are truly tropical, and must be treated like an annual when grown in colder climates.

 

“Hibiscus” by Theresa Anne Moore

 

See her joyful expression!

See how she blossoms with love.

See how His tender affection

Sustains her with fruit from above.

Hibiscus syriacus

 

 

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

 

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

 

 

9 thoughts on ““H” Is For Hibiscus

  1. So very beautiful, your words and the image and as always the scriptures are so very meaningful! Hugs, love, and blessings to you my dear sister!

  2. Debbie says:

    This is so so lovely! I felt His peace and love as I read the scripture and poem and post! You are almost a third of the way through the challenge!!! What a blessing you are!
    love and prayers!
    deb

    • Deb, I felt it, too! I actually felt like I was her! I am so thankful for your prayers which are proving to be so effectual! ❤

      I didn't realize that I was already a third of the way through! You are such an encourager!

      Love and Blessings,
      Theresa

  3. Gosh, how I love the hymn “Lilly of the Valley”!!! I didn’t know any of the hibiscus info. We had one in our old yard. But, alas it ended up dying off.

    • Barbara, is that the one that goes, “He’s the Lily of the Valley, the Bright and Morning Star, He’s The Fairest of Ten Thousand To My Soul”?

      My husband and I used to sing a special in church called “Day Star Shine Down On Me” that started off “Lily of The Valley let your sweet aroma fill my life. Rose of Sharon show me how to grow in beauty in God’s sight”.

      I am sorry to hear it died. Do do any gardening now?

      I am enjoying your posts in this A-Z challenge. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  4. I always think of the Bible when I hear the name or see a rose of Sharon. Thanks for this post, Theresa.

    • I am so glad you liked it, Cynthia! I think of the Bible, too. My husband and I used to sing duets in church while he played piano. There was one song that was always requested. It was called “Day Star” It began with these lines:

      Lily of The Valley, let your sweet aroma fill my life.
      Rose of Sharon show me how to grow in beauty in God’s sight.
      Fairest of Ten Thousand, make me a reflection of your light.
      Daystar shine down on me. Let your love shine through me in the night.

      Thank you for your comment.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

Leave a Reply

