“G” Is For Gardenia

205475_1648396421240_6962734_n
This is a gardenia growing in my back yard.

 

Scripture references;

“10 How fair is thy love, my sister, my spouse! how much better is thy love than wine! and the smell of thine ointments than all spices!

11 Thy lips, O my spouse, drop as the honeycomb: honey and milk are under thy tongue; and the smell of thy garments is like the smell of Lebanon.” Song of Solomon 4:10-11 KJV

“Let my prayer be set forth before thee as incense; and the lifting up of my hands as the evening sacrifice.” Psalm 141:2 KJV

 

The five senses have always been a fascinating subject for me. They have a powerful effect on my mood. When I am doing my weekly shopping for items like shampoo or household cleaners off go the caps of all of the bottles. The scent of the product is always the deciding factor for me.

I love all of my flowers. Each of them is precious in my sight, but when it comes to the sense of smell, my gardenia has the biggest impact. Just one flower in a glass floods the room with magical fragrance.

The gardenia is a broad-leafed evergreen shrub that is a favorite of flower gardeners here in the South. They are not difficult to grow provided they have good soil (slightly acidic), a climate that doesn’t get too cold (In the United States you don’t want to go below zones 7 or 8), and plenty of water. There are a number of varieties, too. There are small ones that grow to be about 2-3 feet tall, and big ones that can get as tall as your house. There are a number of cultivars that will not survive a frost, so be sure to check the tag, so you know which one you are getting. Some can be grown indoors. I have never had one of those, but there’s always that chance that I might try one sometime.

The Church is often referred to as “The Bride of Christ”.  The Song of Solomon provides us with a beautiful depiction of the intense love the Lord has for her.

 

 

“Gardenia” by Theresa Anne Moore

 

Notes swirling around

Never failing to astound

Sillage will abound

Its chorus will resound

My gardenia has been found!

 

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

 

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

9 thoughts on ““G” Is For Gardenia

  1. Debbie says:

    Oh my! What beautiful verses and blossom for us today! Theresa, have you always had a love of gardening? I just loved the poem! Thank you, thank you!
    Love, deb

  2. Well Deb, I like to piddle. I first took an interest probably 15-20 years ago. 🙂

    I am so glad you liked the poem! You are such a blessing.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. I always find such a soothing love alive in all you share, I can imagine walking out in the morning and smelling the pleasing aroma of all of the flowers in your garden! Your poems are so delightful to embrace…they leave a lasting spiritual fragrance throughout my day!

    • Wendell, this just touches my heart! It is so healing to the heart to spend time outdoors in spring. It really helps me.

      I am so glad you like my poems. You have been writing poetry for so long, and it is really beautiful. I didn’t learn about this A-Z Challenge until the very last minute, so I have had to compose under conditions that truly are challenging for me, but I am enjoying it. I needed something to keep my mind busy.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  4. I’m enjoying your flower posts, dear Theresa. I love the fragrance of gardenias, and I’m with you on sniffing products before buying them. I was doing this yesterday while choosing a shampoo. 🙂
    Blessings ~ Wendy ❤

Leave a Reply

