“F” Is For Four O’ Clocks

mirabilis-jalapa-402433_1280
Mirabilis Jalapa, Wonderblume
Image Credit, pixabay.com

Scripture reference;

“He hath made every thing beautiful in his time: also he hath set the world in their heart, so that no man can find out the work that God maketh from the beginning to the end.” Ecclesiastes 3:11 KJV

 

Four O’ Clocks hold a special charm for me similar to that of morning glories, hollyhocks, and marigolds. These are all plants I remember seeing in gardens of people that I loved. They weren’t the beautifully landscaped kind that you see in magazines, and are so popular today, although each of these flowers would do just fine in them. These gardens were simple plots with some vegetables here and a few flowers there, but much prized by their owners who also took great delight in showing them to little children a few minutes before taking them into the house, so they could help bake cookies.

Each trumpet shaped flower opens at four o’ clock in the afternoon, and closes the next morning. They come in a variety of colors, and are supposed to be fragrant. I had some growing in a container once, but I can’t remember if they were fragrant or not. I didn’t plant them in the ground, because someone once told me that they will drop so many seeds that you will have them all over the place, and once that tuberous root gets going it can be hard to dig it up.

I still haven’t ruled these flowers out. Each year I pause and think about buying a packet of seeds and giving them a try somewhere in my yard.

A word of caution:  They are poisonous like so many other beautiful plants, so keep an eye on your children and pets.

 

“Four O’ Clocks”  by Theresa Anne Moore

There is a time of day

That is enjoyed by most.

The kids come home and play

While Mother cooks a roast.

The swings are so much fun.

The tether ball is, too.

And after that is done

They’re not sure what to do.

They pitch a stone across the yard.

They readjust their socks,

And simultaneously regard

The yellow four o’ clocks.

 

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

 

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

 

 

 

 

11 thoughts on ““F” Is For Four O’ Clocks

  1. Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    We don’t have our swings anymore, but the tether ball is still standing. Our nest may be empty, but I still have memories that make me smile.

  2. Such a beautiful flower… and I love this passage from Ecclesiastes!

    • Thank you!
      I also like the English Standard Version:

      “He has made everything beautiful in its time. Also, he has put eternity into man’s heart, yet so that he cannot find out what God has done from the beginning to the end.” Ecclesiastes 3:11 ESV

  3. Tarkabarka says:

    Lovely poem, lovely flower! 🙂 I always thought too that it is such a nice time of the day for a flower to bloom

    @TarkabarkaHolgy from
    Multicolored Diary – Epics from A to Z
    MopDog – 26 Ways to Die in Medieval Hungary

  4. Debbie says:

    Just wonderful! I enjoyed it all so much, from beginning to end! We had four o’clocks along the side of our house when I lived with my parents. I would go gather seeds to share with people who wanted them. :). Ours were deep pink.
    Thank you for blessing us! God bless you!
    Love, deb

  5. I know I don’t know everything, but I would not have expected to be totally clueless about this flower; I’ve never heard of it before. It was a sweet poem, though. The A-Z challenge sounds interesting, too.

    • Well you have probably seen them before, though.

      I’m glad you liked the poem! Maybe next year you can sign up for the A-Z Challenge. This is my first year. Now I have got to think about my post for tomorrow, and come up with a poem.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  6. Theresa, what a lovely and cozy poem. I cherish memories of my grandmother’s flower gardens.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

