“E” Is For Eupatorium

blue-mist-flowers-56708_640
Blue Mist Flowers, Wild Ageratum (Eupatorium colestinum)
Image Credit, pixabay.com

 

Scripture reference;

Behold, the heaven and the heaven of heavens is the Lord‘s thy God, the earth also, with all that therein is.” Deuteronomy 10:14 KJV

Rejoice the soul of thy servant: for unto thee, O Lord, do I lift up my soul.

For thou, Lord, art good, and ready to forgive; and plenteous in mercy unto all them that call upon thee.” Psalm 86:4-5 KJV

 

Eupatorium isn’t a specific plant. It is a genus of flowering plants. I just wanted to write about a plant I used to have that I really liked, but needed a plant that started with an “E”, so I sort of cheated.

A patch of Blue Mist Flowers (Eupatorium colestinum) appeared in my yard one year a long time ago. They were such pretty flowers, and I wondered if they were a weed or actually a flower that might have been growing somewhere in my neighborhood that went to seed and was brought over to my yard by the wind or a bird or something else. Then I remembered that I had a little field guide. I decided to see if I could use that field guide to classify it, and I did! It was back when I was homeschooling my daughter, she might have been ten years old at the time or even younger.

They turned out to be a native plant in my state. I grew them for a few years, but noticed that they could be a bit invasive. They were easy to pull up, but there were so many. They are awfully pretty though, in mass plantings. According to what I have read, they can grow to be three feet tall. The tallest ones I ever saw were about up to my knees. I did cut them in half once in late spring or early summer, and they were more compact, but still bloomed. They bloom in the fall. There are nurseries on-line that sell them, if you would like to grow some in your flowerbed.

I’m not sure if the Bible verses I selected really fit these flowers. I guess there was just a mood that came over me as I thought about them; the way they appeared out of nowhere, and brought me pleasure. The Lord is like that. He delights in calling out to us. He longs for us to call on Him. He cares about all of us, and will not ignore us when we turn to Him, and pray.

 

“Eupatorium Colestinum” by Theresa Anne Moore

 

E  nchanting flowers growing

nanimously blue, yet glowing  

erpetually growing and knowing

utumnal is their showing

eaching me; even preaching

ratorically beseeching

everently reaching

mploring but not breaching

rgently awaking

y heart to its aching

 

C arefully with shaking

O vercoming, making

onging and adoring

ach and every morning

inging and outpouring

ransforming and adorning

mplicitly confiding

oticeably abiding

U  nemcumbered striding

M  y Lord shall be presiding

 

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

 

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

11 thoughts on ““E” Is For Eupatorium

  1. Sue Archer says:

    That’s a beautiful picture of those blue mist flowers. And a challenging set of words for an acrostic! I love the line “perpetually growing and knowing.”

  2. Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    I’m not sure what I was thinking when I committed to writing a poem every day. So far they have been acrostic poems, which can be easier, but still has been a challenge indeed. Here is my post for the letter “E”:

  3. Debbie says:

    This is not cheating! :). This is a very challenging challenge and you are rocking it! I think I have seen these blue mist flowers too! Now I will know what they are! Yay! And I find the verses so special and beautiful. They always go together and work for me!
    Love and prayers and thanks!
    Deb

    • I tell you what, Deb. My mind is frazzled. I am woking on tomorrow’s post right now…”Four O’ Clocks…hickery dicker doc I planted four o’ clocks….LOL! Just kidding. How in the world have you managed to write so many poems for so long.? My hat goes off to you, Deb! You are one special lady. ❤

      Love and blessings,
      Theresa

  4. stu06bloc9 says:

    Wow, that’s a complex term to write an acrostic poem for, well done 🙂

    • Thank you, Stu!
      But I have only one blog in this A-Z challenge. I have no idea how you accomplish so much.

      Blessings,
      Theresa

      • stu06bloc9 says:

        But your blog posts are very well constructed and you have three parts to each post – the bible verse, the plant form with a picture source and description and writing an acrostic poem for that plant form – all very well-organised, researched and nicely presented – like the work of three posts in one 😀

  5. Oh, thank you so much!

  6. Beautiful poem, dear Theresa. Blue flowers are one of my favorites in the garden.
    Blessings ~ Wendy

Leave a Reply

