“B” Is For Begonia

begonia-17534_1280
Begonia semperflorens (wax begonia)
Image Credit, pixabay.com

Scripture reference;

And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.” Ephesians 4:32 KJV

Begonia semperflorens come in dwarf varieties that grow to be only 6″-8″ high, and tall varieties that grow to be 10″-12″ high. They come in white, red, pink, and salmon. Some have green foliage, and others have either bronze or a mixture of green and bronze.

Although often treated as an annual in planting zones 8 and under, they are actually  “tender” perennials that grow unhindered in planting zones 9-11. If you want to keep them for more than one season you will have to bring them indoors for the winter as soon as freezing temperatures are predicted.  Some can tolerate full sun, but most prefer partial shade, and rich evenly moist soil.

When treated with tenderness you can count on them to bloom from May all the way through October. They are beautiful in mass plantings, and also in containers.

“Begonias” by Theresa Anne Moore

B  eckoning blossoms we all know

E  namor the garden with soft pink glow

G  listening leaves with waxen sheen

O  verspread bedding with bronze and green

N  ot ill-mannered nor stepping on toe

I   mpatiens will certainly tell you so

A  ffectionate friends that will always be seen

S  haring their beauty transforming the scene

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

12 thoughts on ““B” Is For Begonia

  1. This was put together beautifully… great job!

  2. Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    I am participating in the “A-Z Challenge” at my other blog, “Serenaded Softly” I thought I would share today’s post here today. 🙂

  3. Debbie says:

    I was kind of wondering if you would do begonias! :). I usually choose them as one of the flowers I get to just put in little planters. They always do good for me, so I am blessed by begonias! Another beautiful scripture for me to take to heart too! Thank you, Theresa!
    Love,
    Deb

    • Deb, I am so glad I got to write about a flower that you use! I used to plant them a lot, too. I had some in planters and some in the ground. It has been a number of years since I have planted annuals and tender perennials.

      Now I will just have to get a few, so I will have another excuse to think of you and smile!

      Love,
      Theresa

  4. stu06bloc9 says:

    Lovely poem for begonia, best wishes 🙂

  5. Just as beautiful to see and read a second time, dear friend.
    Blessings ~ Wendy ❤

Leave a Reply

