A is For Azalea

207108_1648398981304_1576853711_31333613_7791781_nazalea

This is an azalea growing beside one of my gardenia shrubs. They each benefit from the dappled shade of an oak tree to the north of them, a maple tree to the south of them, and the afternoon shade cast from the corner of my house that is situated to the west of them.

Scripture Reference;

 Be merciful unto me, O God, be merciful unto me: for my soul trusteth in thee: yea, in the shadow of thy wings will I make my refuge, until these calamities be overpast.” Psalm 57:1 KJV

Azaleas belong to the genus Rhododendron of the heath family (Ericaceae). They are beautiful, but they can be a little fussy. They require acidic soil that is well drained. They like a little sun, but not a lot, and definitely not the blazing afternoon sun. That is why if their only source of shade comes from a building they will usually be planted on either the east or the north side. Azaleas are one of my favorite blooming shrubs. Put them in the right place and allow them to abide there, because they do not like their roots to be disturbed, and be sure to water them (both their roots and their leaves) in the morning hours. If you do these things you will have them to enjoy for years; even decades.

“Azalea” by Theresa Anne Moore

A  dept at commanding the stage

ealous to be near a tree

droitly recites like a sage

ove’s virtues, most will agree

scorting spring’s coming of age

t the Father’s sovereign decree

 

This post was submitted as part of the A to Z Challenge, where participants agree to post an article that corresponds to each letter of the alphabet and publish an article every day during the month of April (except Sundays).

Here at Serenaded Softly, my theme for the month is Blossoming Verses, where I’ll share a picture of something in bloom, a passage of scripture, and a poem.

If you are looking for a more in-depth devotion you may visit my companion blog, Moore To Ponder

 

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here:
http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

18 thoughts on “A is For Azalea

  1. Beautiful shrubs, how I wish I could grow plants in our little place..I’ve tried before but they just die 😦 haha

    • Thank you!
      Do you have a yard, or do you live in an apartment? I am just curious. I know your climate might be a little different from mine, but if you ever would like some advice I would be more than happy to help. 🙂

      Blessings,
      Theresa

  2. You can do it! I just have a feeling you can. 🙂

  3. Heather says:

    Lovely flowers and poem 🙂

  4. stu06bloc9 says:

    What a fantastic post for the letter A, wonderful mix of image, scripture and verse, marvellous choices, seems very well-planned. Looking forward to revisiting. 🙂 Best wishes

  5. This is wonderful, Theresa. Gardens are so inspiring.

    Blessings ~ Wendy ❀

  6. Debbie says:

    Oh gosh, Theresa! I was wondering when you were going to start the challenge and now it’s here! I am so excited and just thrilled with this post! It has everything! I am going to love learning about the plants you share with us and the scripture grabbed my heart, and the acrostic was like icing on the cake. Woohoo!
    God bless you wonderful woman of the word and garden!
    Love, deb

  7. Thank you so much Dreamer Mom! I was trying to remember your name. Is it Maricel?

    Love and blessings,
    Theresa

Leave a Reply

