Rest Stops

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

Scripture References;

14 My beloved is unto me as a cluster of camphire in the vineyards of Engedi.

15 Behold, thou art fair, my love; behold, thou art fair; thou hast doves’ eyes.

16 Behold, thou art fair, my beloved, yea, pleasant: also our bed is green.

17 The beams of our house are cedar, and our rafters of fir. Song of Solomon 1:14-17 KJV

1The Lord is my shepherd; I shall not want.

He maketh me to lie down in green pastures: he leadeth me beside the still waters.

He restoreth my soul: he leadeth me in the paths of righteousness for his name’s sake.  Psalm 23:1-3 KJV

11 For thus saith the Lord God; Behold, I, even I, will both search my sheep, and seek them out.

12 As a shepherd seeketh out his flock in the day that he is among his sheep that are scattered; so will I seek out my sheep, and will deliver them out of all places where they have been scattered in the cloudy and dark day.

13 And I will bring them out from the people, and gather them from the countries, and will bring them to their own land, and feed them upon the mountains of Israel by the rivers, and in all the inhabited places of the country.

14 I will feed them in a good pasture, and upon the high mountains of Israel shall their fold be: there shall they lie in a good fold, and in a fat pasture shall they feed upon the mountains of Israel.

15 I will feed my flock, and I will cause them to lie down, saith the Lord God.

16 I will seek that which was lost, and bring again that which was driven away, and will bind up that which was broken, and will strengthen that which was sick: but I will destroy the fat and the strong; I will feed them with judgment. Ezekiel 34:11-16 KJV

“15 For thus saith the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel; In returning and rest shall ye be saved; in quietness and in confidence shall be your strength…” Isaiah 30 :15 KJV

28 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.

29 Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.

30 For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light. Matthew 11:28-30 KJV

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

Lately I have been here at home working quietly and pondering much. I am thankful that the Lord has allowed me to do that. There is so much in our lives that is beyond our control…but we forget that. Then the Lord gently and sometimes abruptly reminds us, and in doing so we are given an opportunity to experience much needed rest.

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here: http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

9 thoughts on “Rest Stops

  1. Reblogged this on Moore to Ponder and commented:

    I hope you find comfort in the scriptures I shared today at my other blog, Serenaded Softly.

  2. Caddo Veil says:

    “There is so much in our lives that is beyond our control…but we forget that”. This stands out for me, Theresa, and I’ll tell you why. I was recently struck–not so much by the fact that I “forget”, but–because there are times when I INSIST that I should be able to control things I cannot. When the recent blog issues went on and on, I continued (manically) to try “fixes” that failed to avail anything. I simply couldn’t accept that there was NOTHING I could do–that I would have to WAIT until the blog wizards did their job. It was crazy–I was crazy. I’d give it to God, and have a temporary peace–then go nuts again–until I had developed a case of mild depression along with my frustration and sense of powerlessness. Well, God of course used it as a great lesson–because certainly we have far larger, more significant issues in our lives, than blog problems! If I can’t hold onto my peace in Him for such as this, what will I do when the Big Stuff happens? And that, is a rhetorical question–I’m gonna buckle down, take notes, and learn the lesson! Thanks for letting me share–God bless you so abundantly–love, sis Caddo (now in “remedial Patience class”, wearing the dunce cap)

    • I am so glad that you shared this. Waiting can be so hard, and frustrating, too. Isn’t it great that you have a heart that longs to be more patient? The fact that you value patience and peace so much reveals that they are two of your heart desires, that the Lord has promised to grant as your mind is stayed on Him… as you delight in Him!

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. Debbie says:

    This is twice that I have seen the Song of Solomon verse about dove’s eyes. It was explained as how a dove can only see singularly . .. how we long to look only at Him. Your waterfall of scripture comforts me, wonderful woman of the Word, and I pray His constant comfort for you too, for all that we cannot control. May He show Himself strong on your behalf and undertake for you in precious ways today.
    love you!

  4. Oh Deb, that my eye may be single…that it would be set on Him alone! That is the key to perfect peace, isn’t it? I am so glad that you shared that. I have a precious friend named Faith who is old enough to be my mother…she has been my Titus woman for 13 years now. She speaks of the “single eye”, too. I had never hear of that expression. Now I am hearing it again from you, my precious friend!

    Love you, too!

  5. Theresa, my relationship with the Lord always had me become bounded to His living word. Your post above is like a delicious meal at a great restaurant. We most times think of God only as an after thought behind all the things that we daily encounter in this world. But He is more than or cushion of last resort. The majority of us feed the things of the world into our hearts, minds and bodies and God we give small amounts of time. He is life, and without sharing that life with Him more, we become empty and spiritually bankrupt. When we share the meal as your post serves on a daily basis, we become in part what The Lord tried to help us emulate from Him in serving others and not ourselves. All the world gives up will leave the most important part of us empty. Even love found in the world will also do the same unless we deny ourselves, welcoming his love into our hearts and he in return will abundantly bring lasting solid love, solid growth, spiritual healing and make us more productive as his servants! What He gives lasts eternally, what the world gives falls apart and tears us down. Your post feeds those that have eyes to see, hearts to feel and a mouth longing for a lasting fulfillment of a truly satisfying meal. I applaud you and pray you continue to share. One day i will share a vision I had in St Louis from the Lord about spiritual bankruptcy! May His blessings always surround you and your family!

    • I am so moved! Your kind words…but even more moving is the comforting healing truth in your assessment of the frailty of mankind, the inadequacy of what the world really offers, and the Lord’s abundant love, mercy, and grace that searches and knows His children, and never disappoints them.

      Thank you so much for your beautiful comment, and I am looking forward to hearing what the Lord revealed to you in your vision.

      Looking Unto Jesus,
      Theresa

  6. Ann says:

    Thanks for sharing, Theresa

    If ever I need a healthy dose of Scripture, I know I can always come and find a wonderful serving here. Thank you for being obedient in sharing.

    “15 I will feed my flock, and I will cause them to lie down, saith the Lord God.”
    What more can I ask for?

    Learning to rest is a deliberate act that He has been teaching me to embrace. Sometimes I still get up and run around trying to get everything done, but He gently and lovingly guides me back to where He wants me to be.

    Blessings
    ann

    • I know what you mean. Then there are all of the pressures that come from this demanding world in which we live urging us to resist that voice that says “rest”…..but then we finally send up our little white flag and say “Lord, I’m ready to lie down now”, and not only does He replenish those things in us that need replenishing, but He also somehow takes care of those matters that “seemed” to be so urgent…so needing our attention. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

Leave a Reply

