The Last Word

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

Scripture reference;

The Lord Rebukes Job’s Friends

After the Lord had spoken these words to Job, the Lord said to Eliphaz the Temanite: “My anger burns against you and against your two friends, for you have not spoken of me what is right, as my servant Job has. Now therefore takeseven bulls and seven rams and go to my servant Job and offer up a burnt offering for yourselves. And my servant Job shall pray for you, for I will accept his prayer not to deal with you according to your folly. For you have not spoken of me what is right, as my servant Job has.”  So Eliphaz the Temanite and Bildad the Shuhite and Zophar the Naamathite went and did what the Lord had told them, and the Lord accepted Job’s prayer. Job 42:7-9 ESV

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

Poor Job had been through so much, and on top of that, his “friends” just had to tell him what they thought. They thought they understood, but they didn’t. They should have just kept there mouths shut and treated Job with genuine kindness. However, the Lord had His say in the end.

We go through some rough times here on the earth. Sometimes it is the result of wrong we have done and sometimes it isn’t. We really don’t know, because there isn’t a single day that anybody refrains from sinning, even Christians. We all sin daily in our thoughts, our words, and our deeds. Even in the midst of the most terrible times no matter what the cause the Lord still hears our cries, and loves us very deeply. He withholds his comfort from no one who calls on Him.

Christian, be of good courage. Lift up your head. Don’t believe condemning words no matter who speaks them.

Dear one, if you are unsure if you are a Christian or you know you are not, but wish to become one…these next few moments provide you with a precious opportunity made possible by the Lord Himself, because He knows who you are and has loved you a very long time…since before He created the earth! Below is a link that will take you to a page that awaits you. It has answers to questions that you might have and even a prayer that you can pray if you are at a loss for words. I am praying for you.

Love,

Theresa

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here: http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

20 thoughts on “The Last Word

  1. Ann says:

    God bless you, Theresa.

    Thanks for sharing.

    I just finished scheduling tomorrow’s post, and I am thankful to find some confirmation here. 🙂 Relationships can be beautiful as they can be testy. So thankful that we can trust Him to make things right (if we choose to).

    Blessings much and thanks for your gentle reminders.

    Thankful,
    ann

  2. Blessings to you, too, Ann. 🙂

    Theresa

  3. Debbie says:

    Sweet wonderful and wise woman of the Word . . .I’m in tears. Just am. This is just perfect. Just what we all need. Genuine kindness. love you!

  4. Linda says:

    We are all Pharisees in training, sometimes sure that God stops loving us when we sin against Him. In fact, I had one of those moments this morning.

    Question: If I’m pretty sure that I’m going to commit the same sin again, how can I repent and turn the other way? Does confession at some point become a lie?

    Thanks for the topic, Theresa… I wonder about this.

    • I want to apologize for the delay in responding. I really believe it is about the attitude of our heart. Does confession become a lie if we know we are going to probably repeat that sin? Some Bible verses comes to my mind:

      “8 If we say that we have no sin, we deceive ourselves, and the truth is not in us.9 If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.10 If we say that we have not sinned, we make him a liar, and his word is not in us.” 1 John 1:8-10

      I have so many thoughts regarding this. My gut reaction is to say that the most damaging lie we could utter is “I have no sin. I sinned once, but I will “never” commit “that” sin again:

      “16 These six things doth the Lord hate: yea, seven are an abomination unto him:

      17 A proud look, a lying tongue, and hands that shed innocent blood,

      18 An heart that deviseth wicked imaginations, feet that be swift in running to mischief,

      19 A false witness that speaketh lies, and he that soweth discord among brethren.” Proverbs 6:16-19

      “7 Blessed is the man that trusteth in the Lord, and whose hope the Lord is.

      8 For he shall be as a tree planted by the waters, and that spreadeth out her roots by the river, and shall not see when heat cometh, but her leaf shall be green; and shall not be careful in the year of drought, neither shall cease from yielding fruit.

      9 The heart is deceitful above all things, and desperately wicked: who can know it?

      10 I the Lord search the heart, I try the reins, even to give every man according to his ways, and according to the fruit of his doings.” Jeremiah 17:7-10

      “13 Go to now, ye that say, To day or to morrow we will go into such a city, and continue there a year, and buy and sell, and get gain:

      14 Whereas ye know not what shall be on the morrow. For what is your life? It is even a vapour, that appeareth for a little time, and then vanisheth away.15 For that ye ought to say, If the Lord will, we shall live, and do this, or that.

      16 But now ye rejoice in your boastings: all such rejoicing is evil.
      17 Therefore to him that knoweth to do good, and doeth it not, to him it is sin.” James 4:13-17

      “9 And he spake this parable unto certain which trusted in themselves that they were righteous, and despised others:

      10 Two men went up into the temple to pray; the one a Pharisee, and the other a publican.11 The Pharisee stood and prayed thus with himself, God, I thank thee, that I am not as other men are, extortioners, unjust, adulterers, or even as this publican.12 I fast twice in the week, I give tithes of all that I possess.13 And the publican, standing afar off, would not lift up so much as his eyes unto heaven, but smote upon his breast, saying, God be merciful to me a sinner.

      14 I tell you, this man went down to his house justified rather than the other: for every one that exalteth himself shall be abased; and he that humbleth himself shall be exalted.” Luke 18:9-14

      “Have mercy upon me, O God, according to thy lovingkindness: according unto the multitude of thy tender mercies blot out my transgressions.2 Wash me throughly from mine iniquity, and cleanse me from my sin.3 For I acknowledge my transgressions: and my sin is ever before me.4 Against thee, thee only, have I sinned, and done this evil in thy sight: that thou mightest be justified when thou speakest, and be clear when thou judgest.
      5 Behold, I was shapen in iniquity; and in sin did my mother conceive me.” Psalm 51:1-5

      My final thought is that we should never trust our own heart. We should only trust the Lord’s heart.

      .

      • One more thought. We should like the publican hate our sin and long to be rid of that sinful nature we have that is prone to sin:

        “1 What shall we say then? Shall we continue in sin, that grace may abound?

        2 God forbid. How shall we, that are dead to sin, live any longer therein?

        3 Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death?

        4 Therefore we are buried with him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.

        5 For if we have been planted together in the likeness of his death, we shall be also in the likeness of his resurrection:

        6 Knowing this, that our old man is crucified with him, that the body of sin might be destroyed, that henceforth we should not serve sin.” Romans 6:1-6

        Our heart should hate our sin and long for the day when we will be given new bodies that will only follow the Spirit, but wee must trust the Lord, and not ourselves:

        “16 The Spirit itself beareth witness with our spirit, that we are the children of God:

        17 And if children, then heirs; heirs of God, and joint-heirs with Christ; if so be that we suffer with him, that we may be also glorified together.

        18 For I reckon that the sufferings of this present time are not worthy to be compared with the glory which shall be revealed in us.

        19 For the earnest expectation of the creature waiteth for the manifestation of the sons of God.

        20 For the creature was made subject to vanity, not willingly, but by reason of him who hath subjected the same in hope,

        21 Because the creature itself also shall be delivered from the bondage of corruption into the glorious liberty of the children of God.” Romans 8:16-21

        “22 For we know that the whole creation groaneth and travaileth in pain together until now.

        23 And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the Spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body.

        24 For we are saved by hope: but hope that is seen is not hope: for what a man seeth, why doth he yet hope for?

        25 But if we hope for that we see not, then do we with patience wait for it.

        26 Likewise the Spirit also helpeth our infirmities: for we know not what we should pray for as we ought: but the Spirit itself maketh intercession for us with groanings which cannot be uttered.

        27 And he that searcheth the hearts knoweth what is the mind of the Spirit, because he maketh intercession for the saints according to the will of God.” Romans 8:22-27

        “28 And we know that all things work together for good to them that love God, to them who are the called according to his purpose.

        29 For whom he did foreknow, he also did predestinate to be conformed to the image of his Son, that he might be the firstborn among many brethren.

        30 Moreover whom he did predestinate, them he also called: and whom he called, them he also justified: and whom he justified, them he also glorified.

        31 What shall we then say to these things? If God be for us, who can be against us?

        32 He that spared not his own Son, but delivered him up for us all, how shall he not with him also freely give us all things?

        33 Who shall lay any thing to the charge of God’s elect? It is God that justifieth.

        34 Who is he that condemneth? It is Christ that died, yea rather, that is risen again, who is even at the right hand of God, who also maketh intercession for us.

        35 Who shall separate us from the love of Christ? shall tribulation, or distress, or persecution, or famine, or nakedness, or peril, or sword?

        36 As it is written, For thy sake we are killed all the day long; we are accounted as sheep for the slaughter.

        37 Nay, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him that loved us.

        38 For I am persuaded, that neither death, nor life, nor angels, nor principalities, nor powers, nor things present, nor things to come,

        39 Nor height, nor depth, nor any other creature, shall be able to separate us from the love of God, which is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” Romans 8:28-39

  5. Oh my goodness, Linda…I have this habit of getting carried away in the use of proof texts whenever I address a comment or question like the ones you shared. Lately there have been times when I have been so ashamed of both the nature of my sins and the frequency of their occurrences.

    First of all, remember I am not a pastor. I have never been to a seminary…have no credentials whatsoever. Secondly, there are so many approaches one might take when responding. I definitely have an opinion, but I must be so careful, because we have no idea who could read my reply, and I do not want to influence anyone in a way that would grieve the Holy Spirit.

    It is 10 minutes till 1:00 in the morning, so let me pray about it and respond hopefully tomorrow. I only have one class and it is at 10 a.m. central time, so maybe tomorrow afternoon. 🙂

    Thank you so much for bringing this up. It is very important.

    Love,
    Theresa

    • Debbie says:

      I love the care and time you take, sweet Theresa, and how you find the answers in His word! Wonderful! There was something that I was going to share with Linda about it, that had helped me, but not sure if it would apply. When I first came Christ, and was still dealing with drug and alcohol addiction issues to some extent, I read a book that said to pray for Him to help me want to want to give up these things. Because honestly, I didn’t want to. I wanted to think that He understood that I needed to do it. It might sound really simple and maybe even silly, but it worked. He indeed did help me to really want to turn away from it all and stop. God bless you! love you!

      • Thank you Deb! Please share the title of your book! It is a beautiful thing that the Lord did for you..that He strengthened you and has delivered/ kept you from that evil that once brought you so much pain. I am so glad that you shared that.

        You are right. Sometimes we commit a specific sin, and after confessing and repenting we never commit “That one” again, and the Lord knows the future, so He knows before hand what we will actually do or not do, but since we don’t have that foreknowledge I believe it would be boasting if we claimed that we “knew” that we would not commit a particular sin and telling a lie if we claimed that we would never commit any sins whatsoever.

        I am thinking about Peter and the other disciples. They did not believe that they would ever let the Lord down, and they declared that they wouldn’t, but they did:

        “31 Then saith Jesus unto them, All ye shall be offended because of me this night: for it is written, I will smite the shepherd, and the sheep of the flock shall be scattered abroad.

        32 But after I am risen again, I will go before you into Galilee.

        33 Peter answered and said unto him, Though all men shall be offended because of thee, yet will I never be offended.

        34 Jesus said unto him, Verily I say unto thee, That this night, before the cock crow, thou shalt deny me thrice.

        35 Peter said unto him, Though I should die with thee, yet will I not deny thee. Likewise also said all the disciples.”

        Love
        Theresa

      • Debbie says:

        Oh I like this . . .that we don’t really know about what sins we might still commit. . .best just to keep asking Him for help, confessing and stay humble before Him! Theresa . . .I’m so sorry. I don’t still have that book, the sweet woman that invited me to church and to Jesus loaned it to me and I’ve forgotten the title. I’m so bad at stuff like that! love and prayers!

      • Linda says:

        Debbie… I had no idea. You really do understand. This is the first time (recently) that I have struggled with sin that seems unmanageable, unstoppable. Was I led into temptation, or did I see an opportunity and take the bait.

        I appreciate knowing a good way to pray. That is a struggle right now, but I’m going to try what you said. Thats, too, for your honesty.

  6. Caddo Veil says:

    I am always grateful to remember that God has the final word–that truth interrupts the cycle of anxiety beautifully! Of course, I don’t always remember it on my own when I most need it–So, that is why it’s wonderful to have lovely sisters in the Lord! (I, too, will be interested to read your response to Linda.) Thank you for being here, Theresa–God bless you Big!

    • I am sorry I forgot to reply to you, Caddo 😦

      I also just realized that I never gave this post a title. The semester is almost over for me at school. I hope I do better with my blogs this summer.

      Love and blessings,

      Theresa

  7. Linda says:

    Dear Theresa… I am always overwhelmed by your gifting as a Bible teacher. What an awesome collection of verses to answer a very challenging question. I’m printing it to review whenever I need a reminder that God’s way is always better than Linda’s way.

    From my heart, thanks again.

  8. Reblogged this on Serenaded Softly and commented:

    We go through some rough times here on the earth. Sometimes it is the result of wrong we have done and sometimes it isn’t. We really don’t know, because there isn’t a single day that anybody refrains from sinning, even Christians. We all sin daily in our thoughts, our words, and our deeds. Even in the midst of the most terrible times no matter what the cause the Lord still hears our cries, and loves us very deeply. He withholds his comfort from no one who calls on Him.

  9. So much wisdom here, as always, dear friend.
    Blessings ~ Wendy ❤

    • Thank you so much Wendy! ❤

      My son has been reading the book of Job, so I decided to read some, too. Then I remembered that I wrote this post a few years ago, so I shared it.

      • Debbie says:

        What a blessing to read this again and consider His mercies and salvation. Thank you sweet friend!

      • Thank you so much, Deb! I am comforted to be reminded that even when He seems distant, and the enemy is full of accusations, the Lord is still there loving us and defending us, and eventually reassuring us.

        Love,
        Theresa

Leave a Reply

