Confessing It All

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

Scripture reference;

 1THE WORDS or story of Nehemiah son of Hacaliah: Now in the month of Chislev in the twentieth year [of the Persian king], as I was in the castle of Shushan,

    2Hanani, one of my kinsmen, came with certain men from Judah, and I asked them about the surviving Jews who had escaped exile, and about Jerusalem.

    3And they said to me, The remnant there in the province who escaped exile are in great trouble and reproach; the wall of Jerusalem is broken down, and its [fortified] gates are destroyed by fire.

    4When I heard this, I sat down and wept and mourned for days and fasted and prayed [constantly] before the God of heaven,

    5And I said, O Lord God of heaven, the great and terrible God, Who keeps covenant, loving-kindness, and mercy for those who love Him and keep His commandments,

    6Let Your ear now be attentive and Your eyes open to listen to the prayer of Your servant which I pray before You day and night for the Israelites, Your servants, confessing the sins of the Israelites which we have sinned against You. Yes, I and my father’s house have sinned.

    7We have acted very corruptly against You and have not kept the commandments, statutes, and ordinances which You commanded Your servant Moses.

    8Remember [earnestly] what You commanded Your servant Moses: If you transgress and are unfaithful, I will scatter you abroad among the nations;

    9But if you return to Me and keep My commandments and do them, though your outcasts were in the farthest part of the heavens [the expanse of outer space], yet will I gather them from there and will bring them to the place in which I have chosen to set My [a]Name.

    10Now these are Your servants and Your people, whom You have redeemed by Your great power and by Your strong hand.

    11O Lord, let Your ear be attentive to the prayer of Your servant and the prayer of Your servants who delight to revere and fear Your name (Your nature and attributes); and prosper, I pray You, Your servant this day and grant him mercy in the sight of this man. For I was cupbearer to the king. Nehemiah 1 Amplified Bible

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

Nehemiah confessed so much here. He acknowledged God and His attributes as he began to pray. He confessed both his sin and the sin of the Israelites. He also confessed that he remembered God’s promise and that he was trusting the Lord to honor it, as he asked the Lord to prosper him and grant him mercy in what he hoped to accomplish.

We might not be be cupbearers to an earthly king, but there is a saying that says even bosses have bosses. We might not be facing circumstances that are identical to Nehemiah’s or even to each other, but we do have some things in common. Don’t we all fail? Don’t our loved ones fail? Don’t we all sin? Aren’t we all able to look around and see things that break our hearts? Let’s follow Nehemiah’s example and just confess our sin, and trust that the Lord will forgive, and ask Him for help to do whatever He puts before us, and believe that He will do that!   :)

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here: http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

9 thoughts on “Confessing It All

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    I am so glad and grateful, Theresa, that we have a God we can count on to forgive us before we even confess and ask! His love is so faithful to be “right there”, with whatever we need! Praise His Name Forever! God bless you abundantly today, Sister.

    • I am so glad you brought that up. When we sin our fellowship can be disturbed, and we should confess our sins; our earthly lives are affected when our the attitude of our heart is not right, but as far as eternity is concerned, we are saved and forgiven for all our sins….past, present, and future. It was careless of me to not include that in this post. I am so grateful that you brought that to my attention. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

  2. Oh yes, that makes me so glad, too!

    God bless you, too.

    Love,
    Theresa

  3. Debbie says:

    I loved this wonderful woman of the Word! The “don’t we” questions were just so comforting again, as we understand that we are not alone in any of this, nor does it take Him by surprise. He is waiting, ready to forgive us as we confess it all. Love and prayers! How do you manage to keep posting so regularly here, with all your work to do? What a blessing you are!

  4. Thank you, Deb. When I dropped out of my college algebra class I was left with only three classes (9 hours altogether), and they are pretty easy. Next semester I will need to take at least 12 or I will get into a little trouble. Last fall I originally signed up for fifteen hours, then dropped a class…that took me back down to twelve for that semester, but some how the people in one of those offices crunched the numbers in some fashion that saved me from getting in trouble…I have no clue how, but I am grateful.

    Spiritually I have really been stumbling ever since school started back in August. But the Lord just keeps picking me back up and compelling me to draw near Him. I wish I could explain, but I just can’t. So I decided that I was just going to recommit to spending time in the word daily. Writing about what I read kind of keeps me motivated. I had hoped to post at least six days a week…maybe even seven, but I have already fallen short of that goal. But I am trying again.

    Pray that the Lord will help me to keep that commitment…it is for my own good. 🙂

    Love,
    Theresa

  5. Ann says:

    Amen,
    Thanks Theresa
    Sometimes all we need to do is ask but it seems easier to live with the guilt and shame… So thankful that He made the way!!
    Blessings
    ann

Leave a Reply

