A Need-To-Know Basis

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

Scripture references;

Elijah Taken to Heaven

1 Now when the Lord was about to take Elijah up to heaven by a whirlwind, Elijah and Elisha were on their way from Gilgal. 21 And Elijah said to Elisha, “Please stay here, for the Lord has sent me as far as Bethel.” But Elisha said, “As the Lord lives, and as you yourself live, I will not leave you.” So they went down to Bethel. And the sons of the prophets who were in Bethel came out to Elisha and said to him, “Do you know that today the Lord will take away your master from over you?” And he said, “Yes, I know it; keep quiet.”

Elijah said to him, “Elisha, please stay here, for the Lord has sent me to Jericho.” But he said, “As the Lord lives, and as you yourself live, I will not leave you.” So they came to Jericho.  The sons of the prophets who were at Jericho drew near to Elisha and said to him, “Do you know that today the Lord will take away your master from over you?” And he answered, “Yes, I know it; keep quiet.”

Then Elijah said to him, “Please stay here, for the Lord has sent me to the Jordan.” But he said, “As the Lord lives, and as you yourself live, I will not leave you.” So the two of them went on. Fifty men of the sons of the prophets also went and stood at some distance from them, as they both were standing by the Jordan. Then Elijah took his cloak and rolled it up and struck the water, and the water was parted to the one side and to the other, till the two of them could go over on dry ground.

When they had crossed, Elijah said to Elisha, “Ask what I shall do for you, before I am taken from you.” And Elisha said, “Please let there be a double portion of your spirit on me.” 10 And he said, “You have asked a hard thing; yet, if you see me as I am being taken from you, it shall be so for you, but if you do not see me, it shall not be so.” 11 And as they still went on and talked, behold, chariots of fire and horses of fire separated the two of them. And Elijah went up by a whirlwind into heaven. 12 And Elisha saw it and he cried, “My father, my father! The chariots of Israel and its horsemen!” And he saw him no more.

Then he took hold of his own clothes and tore them in two pieces. 13 And he took up the cloak of Elijah that had fallen from him and went back and stood on the bank of the Jordan. 14 Then he took the cloak of Elijah that had fallen from him and struck the water, saying, “Where is the Lord, the God of Elijah?” And when he had struck the water, the water was parted to the one side and to the other, and Elisha went over.  

Elisha Succeeds Elijah

15 Now when the sons of the prophets who were at Jericho saw him opposite them, they said, “The spirit of Elijah rests on Elisha.” And they came to meet him and bowed to the ground before him. 16 And they said to him, “Behold now, there are with your servants fifty strong men. Please let them go and seek your master. It may be that the Spirit of theLord has caught him up and cast him upon some mountain or into some valley.” And he said, “You shall not send.”17 But when they urged him till he was ashamed, he said, “Send.” They sent therefore fifty men. And for three days they sought him but did not find him. 18 And they came back to him while he was staying at Jericho, and he said to them, “Did I not say to you, ‘Do not go’?”

  2 Kings 2:1-18 ESV

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

This is such a mysterious passage of scripture. I wondered if there were any other accounts that described all that happened there, so I looked up “Elijah” in my Strong’s Exhaustive Concordance of the Bible and there weren’t any. The sons of the prophets had questions. I have questions. Do you have questions? I just can’t imagine what it would be like to witness a dramatic exit like that. I would be just amazed and find myself wondering about a lot of things, but I have found that the Lord reveals things on a need to know basis.

Would you like to know something else that I think is amazing? I think it is pretty amazing that they all did know an incredible thing. Not only did Elijah know that the Lord was about to take him to Heaven, Elisha knew it, and both the sons of the prophets of Bethel and the sons of the prophets of Jericho knew it. I wonder how they knew. The Lord knows that we humans are curious creatures…always have been. Elisha wanted a double portion of the spirit that Elijah had. Not only did the Lord grant it to him, but he also made sure that Elisha “knew” that it had been granted. He needed to know………and God let him know.

The Lord has made some awesome promises to us about things that He has provided for believers, not just because we need those things, but also because we need to know!   :)

Here are some verses that are a delight to know:

 

 27My sheep hear my voice, and I know them, and they follow me: 28And I give unto them eternal life; and they shall never perish, neither shall any man pluck them out of my hand. 29My Father, which gave them me, is greater than all; and no man is able to pluck them out of my Father’s hand. 30I and my Father are one. John 10:27-30KJV

11And this is the record, that God hath given to us eternal life, and this life is in his Son. 12He that hath the Son hath life; and he that hath not the Son of God hath not life. 13These things have I written unto you that believe on the name of the Son of God; that ye may know that ye have eternal life, and that ye may believe on the name of the Son of God. 14And this is the confidence that we have in him, that, if we ask any thing according to his will, he heareth us: 15And if we know that he hear us, whatsoever we ask, we know that we have the petitions that we desired of him. 1 John 5:11-15 KJV

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here: http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

6 thoughts on “A Need-To-Know Basis

  1. Ann says:

    Thanks, Theresa

    Curiousity often gets the better of me but I’m glad to know He knows all I need to know and then some 😉

    When I first read your post, this song came to me… I thought I’d share it with you.

    Blessings much
    ann

  2. Debbie says:

    Dear wonderful woman of the Word . . .what a precious comfort you continue to bring to us! I am so blessed to think about how He will let me know what I need to know!!! That way I don’t need to stress about what I don’t know. If I don’t know it, I must not need to know it right now. He’ll fill me in when I do!
    Is comfort a gift? For you have the gift of comforting us!!!
    love and prayers and joy!

    • Thank you, Deb. You are a comforter, too. You are so nurturing, and patient.

      Today I am needing to know…needing to be reminded that I can be forgiven. I can be just awful. I think if I could write an autobiographical poem it would go like this:

      “There was a little girl who had a little curl…” But that one has already been done. 🙂

      Love,
      Theresa

  3. Linda says:

    “I don’t understand, Lord… but I trust you.” That’s my favorite prayer lately. But the other night, as an anwer to that prayer, I flipped open my Bible and there was the answer.

    It was a delight to know. Praise God for loving us so much! : )

Leave a Reply

