A Home And a Job


<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

Scripture reference;

And the LORD God planted a garden eastward in Eden; and there he put the man whom he had formed.” Genesis 2:8 KJV

<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3<3

The Lord gave Adam a home and a job. Adam was going to be a gardener. I have some flowerbeds. They are mostly made up of shrubs. They keep me busy, especially from around April until the end of September. The picture of the roses and hydrangeas above was taken in my back yard. They are growing right beside my patio. I enjoy working with plants. It’s nice, quiet work. The only sounds to be heard are pleasant sounds…birds and bugs. The Lord speaks to me there. He shows me the most fascinating things in simple things that illustrate spiritual things. I talk to Him about things that are on my mind and He listens, and responds in the most creative, yet useful ways.

It is the same with all types of chores. I love to grocery shop when I don’t have to hurry. I find myself thinking about family. I have some really special memories of moments with my grandmother. She knew so many secrets, and she loved to share them with me. She would point to things on the shelves and tell me which were the best. She was so happy to teach me. So when I’m at the store and I think of her, and look forward to seeing her in Heaven, I stop and thank the Lord for her and for my childhood and for Heaven. He was speaking to me through those memories, and I responded to Him. He also provides lots of friendly people to speak with there. He reminds me that smiles are contagious and often lead to fellowship with other precious people …people made in His image.

The Lord gives us homes and jobs, and He goes with us to keep us company. Some jobs are so demanding, and allow no time for talking. We might have a kind co-worker who quickly and quietly pats us on the shoulder just to let us know that they care, and we smile at them gratefully. That says so much. The Lord is with us there doing the same thing, and we quickly and quietly whisper “Thank you, Lord”, and that speaks volumes. We are prone to say that we don’t spend enough time with the Lord. If that really is true, do you think it is possible that we have made it too complicated?

The Lord is right there where you are. Enjoy that moment!

Do you know Jesus as your personal Savior and Lord?  Please click here: http://pronetoponder.wordpress.com/category/about-salvation-very-important-words/ and make sure.

Do you have a Bible? If you don’t have one, you need not worry. Just click here: www.biblegateway.com   They have many versions and translations of the Bible that you can read. Some of the best things in life are free!

19 thoughts on “A Home And a Job

  1. Heather says:

    Hello Theresa,

    This is such a wonderfully gentle confirmation of some things I’ve been considering lately.

    This in particular spoke to my heart:

    We are prone to say that we don’t spend enough time with the Lord. If that really is true, do you think it is possible that we have made it too complicated?

    Sometimes, I do allow the circumstances of the day to cause my thoughts to stray. And I often spend a lot of time talking to God while doing chores or driving or tending needs of children . Then, I’ll feel guilty for not making more time for a regular, in-depth daily devotional and worry about how I can become more spiritual.
    But then I remembered. While regular periods of quiet contemplation can be refreshing and even necessary, the reality is that we need Jesus every moment and it is a mistake to think that the “only” time we can spend with the Lord is when we are doing nothing but reading the Bible and praying.

    It is my desire to learn to be aware of His presence and guided by Him at all times 🙂

  2. Debbie says:

    Oh I loved this Theresa! How precious and true that He is with us throughout the day and we can listen to Him, be taught and led by anything and everything . . .without necessarily being “alone”. I don’t really get alone time! haha!
    God bless you as you share these insights with us! I have to find out how to sign up now . . .found this on facebook!
    love and prayers!

  3. Linda says:

    “We are prone to say that we don’t spend enough time with the Lord. If that really is true, do you think it is possible that we have made it too complicated?”

    I know you’re right. I think it’s because those of us who are perfectionists want our Bible reading time to be vast, and our prayers to be thoughful and flowing. Then, if things are a little off and life distracts us, our study, worship, and praise time suffer. We do it less because we know it’s not going to be perfect. At least that’s me.

    What a blessing that He’s with us both right now.

    Lovely blog, Theresa… can’t wait to see what’s next! Hugs… : )

    • “I think it’s because those of us who are perfectionists want our Bible reading time to be vast, and our prayers to be thoughful and flowing. Then, if things are a little off and life distracts us, our study, worship, and praise time suffer. We do it less because we know it’s not going to be perfect.”

      Oooooh Linda…………………………………..You hit the nail on the head!

      Thank you so much for sharing that!

      Love and Hugs,
      Theresa

      • Debbie says:

        Oh that WAS really good! 🙂 How often do I not even try or get started on something because I know it’s not going to turn out as good as I picture it? Thank you!!! love you!

  4. Or how often have we done something and we thought it didn’t count because it wasn’t perfect? We are so hard on ourselves. Why is it that we resist the easy yoke? 🙂

    Love you, too, Deb.

  5. Ann says:

    Thanks, Theresa

    “The Lord is right there where you are. Enjoy that moment!”
    I am learning … 🙂

    Blessings
    ann

  6. I am learning, too. I wish I wasn’t so forgetful.

    Blessings,
    Theresa

  7. Reblogged this on Serenaded Softly and commented:

    “…Some jobs are so demanding, and allow no time for talking. We might have a kind co-worker who quickly and quietly pats us on the shoulder just to let us know that they care, and we smile at them gratefully…”

  8. What you share always plants a beautiful priceless garden deep in my heart, soul, and spirit! Have a beautiful weekend!

  9. Debbie says:

    I am so thankful that you bring back these posts as He brings them to your mind! This blessed me all over again and reminded me that I can stay close to Him all day long! 🙂
    love and prayers!
    deb

    • Deb, this makes me so glad! I just wanted to go back to a different chapter of my life, and see what I was focusing on at the time. I am longing for renewal, and in some measure am beginning to experience it. I am feeling hopeful.

      Love,
      Theresa

  10. When you were talking about your grandmother I was transported back in time to my grandmother’s house on a hot, summer day. Back when times were much simpler, with fewer distractions and even people were different. Pleases, thank yous, may I’s and pardon me’s were the language of the day. But even though we are living in much different times it’s so great to know that God is still the same, unchanging God that He was back with I was a small child. I remember when I was little, before I was even aware of who God was, I could feel His presence.

    I just noticed your link to Bible Gateway. I listen to Max McLean (ESV) everyday as this will be my third year reading the bible in one year.

    • Stephanae, Your comment has blessed me so!

      I am so thankful that there is “no shadow of turning” with our Lord!

      I listen to him, too! There are times when I long to read the Lord’s word, but I am tired, so I click on the speaker symbol and listen to him read the passage.

      Love and Blessings,
      Theresa

Leave a Reply

